Mooney's Deansgrange Announce The Sponsorship of Templeogue Football Club Under 14 Girls Team.

The girl's team will play in Division 1 in the DDSL next season.

The Clubs History

Established in 1977, Templeogue United Football Club, Dublin had a single team that competed in the South Dublin Boys Football League. It used to be known as St. Jude's Football & Athletic Club because it was headquartered in the parish of St. Jude's. Before residences were built there, the team used to play in the park next to Osprey Drive and occasionally on Orwell Park Green.

The Club was founded by Séamus O’Connor, Eugene Hayes, Séamus McHugh, Willie Power, and Andy Clerkin.

In 1986, nine teams in the South Dublin Boys League and three teams in the Dublin and District Schoolboy League were registered, both with players from the immediate catchment area and ages ranging from under 10 to under-18.

When Eamonn Murray, Honorary Secretary stated that as practically all of the associations and clubs in the area were named St. Jude’s, that the Club should consider changing its name.

Speaking at the launch Kevin Lawlor, Mooney's Deansgrange Dealer Principal said

"Mooney's Deansgrange are delighted to be supporting the local girls team. The girls are fantastic players and with the Womens World Cup just around the corner, we want to encourage more females in sport"

All the staff wish the girls team the best of luck in the coming season.